Wednesday, 4 May 2016

Provorov, Kaspick Net WHL Awards

  The Western Hockey League dished out its hardware Wednesday, with two members of the Wheat Kings walking away with trophies.

  Ivan Provorov became just the second Wheat King to capture the Defenceman of the Year award while Tanner Kaspick was recognized as the Scholastic Player of the Year.

  Provorov led all WHL players with a +64 rating during the regular season while also leading all blueliners with 73 points -- becoming just the third defenceman in the last 20 years to record 70+ points and have a +60 rating or higher.

  "There's a lot of great defencemen in the league this year, and it's an honour to receive this award," said Provorov, "As well, there's a lot of great defencemen that have won this award in the past and to be included in this group is pretty special."

  Kaspick, meanwhile, maintained a 96% average in the first semester and a 98% average in the second semester at Vincent Massey High School in becoming the sixth player in Wheat Kings' history to win the Doc Seaman Memorial Trophy.

  "I've always kept school as a high priority for myself.  I take a lot of pride in my work as well," said Kaspick, who also scored 31 pointsin 53 games during the regular season, "For the league to recognize my academic success with this award is a huge honour, and I'm very grateful for it."

  The Wheat Kings were also runner-ups for the WHL's Business and Marketing Award, with the Victoria Royals taking home that honour.

  Other award winners included Moose Jaw's Dryden Hunt as Player of the Year, Everett's Carter Hart as Goaltender of the Year, Matthew Phillips of Victoria as Rookie of the Year and Dave Lowry of the Royals as Coach of the Year.

No comments: