Wednesday, 23 March 2016

WHL Names Award Finalists, All-Stars

Ivan Provorov
  Ivan Provorov was a double winner Wednesday as the WHL unveiled its award finalists and Conference all-star teams.

  Provorov is the Eastern Conference nominee for Defenceman of the Year while also being a unanimous choice for the first all-star team.

  The Flyers' 2015 first round pick led the league with a +64 rating and also led all WHL defencemen with 73 points.

  Provorov was the only Wheat King named as a finalist for a WHL award, being shunned for the Player of the Year nod in favour of Moose Jaw's Dryden Hunt.

  Two other Wheat Kings were named to the Conference all-star teams with Jayce Hawryluk and Nolan Patrick named second team all-stars.

  They finished fourth and fifth in the WHL scoring race with 106 and 102 points respectively.

  Elkhorn product Travis Sanheim of the Calgary Hitmen was also named a second-team all-star.

2015-16 WHL Conference Award Winners:

WHL Executive of the Year (Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy)
Peter Anholt, Lethbridge Hurricanes
Cameron Hope, Victoria Royals

WHL Coach of the Year (Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy)
Brent Kisio, Lethbridge Hurricanes
Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year (Brad Hornung Trophy)
Jake Bean, Calgary Hitmen
Tyler Soy, Victoria Royals

WHL Rookie of the Year (Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy)
Noah Gregor, Moose Jaw Warriors
Matthew Phillips, Victoria Royals

WHL Top Goaltender (Del Wilson Memorial Trophy)
Zachary Sawchenko, Moose Jaw Warriors
Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips

WHL Top Defenceman (Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy)
Ivan Provorov, Brandon Wheat Kings
Joe Hicketts, Victoria Royals

WHL Player of the Year (Four Broncos Memorial Trophy)
Dryden Hunt, Moose Jaw Warriors
Joe Hicketts, Victoria Royals

The following individual and team awards were won during the 2015-16 WHL regular season:

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Victoria Royals: 50-16-3-3 record (106 points)

WHL Top Scorer (Bob Clarke Trophy)
Adam Brooks, Regina Pats

WHL Plus-Minus Award
Ivan Provorov, Brandon Wheat Kings

Note: Conference award winners for the Scholastic Player of the Year, Humanitarian of the Year, Top Official and Business Award will be announced at a later date.


 Goaltender - Zachary Sawchenko, Moose Jaw Warriors
 Defenceman - Ivan Provorov, Brandon Wheat Kings*
 Defenceman - Andrew Nielsen, Lethbridge Hurricanes
 Forward - Dryden Hunt, Moose Jaw Warriors
 Forward - Brayden Point, Moose Jaw Warriors
 Forward - Adam Brooks, Regina Pats

 Goaltender - Rylan Parenteau, Prince Albert Raiders
 Defenceman - Jake Bean, Calgary Hitmen
 Defenceman - Travis Sanheim, Calgary Hitmen
 Forward - Brayden Burke, Lethbridge Hurricanes
 Forward - Nolan Patrick, Brandon Wheat Kings
 Forward -Jayce Hawryluk, Brandon Wheat Kings


 Goaltender - Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips
 Defenceman - Joe Hicketts, Victoria Royals*
 Defenceman - Ethan Bear, Seattle Thunderbirds
 Forward - Tyson Baillie, Kelowna Rockets
 Forward - Mathew Barzal, Seattle Thunderbirds
 Forward - Parker Bowles, Tri-City Americans

 Goaltender - Connor Ingram, Kamloops Blazers
 Defenceman - Noah Juulsen, Everett Silvertips
 Defenceman - Jason Fram, Spokane Chiefs
 Forward - Tyler Soy, Victoria Royals
 Forward - Chase Witala, Prince George Cougars
 Forward - Collin Shirley, Kamloops Blazers

No comments: