Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Two Wheat Kings Earn WHL Honours

Courtesy Western Hockey League
  Two members of the Brandon Wheat Kings came away with Hardware at the Western Hockey League awards luncheon on Wednesday.

  Nolan Patrick was named Rookie of the Year after becoming just the third 16-year old in the last 20 years to score 30 goals in their rookie WHL season.

  "It's a huge honour but I played with tremendous players this year in Morgan Klimchuk and Jayce Hawryluk," said Patrick at the luncheon, "I wouldn't have got 30 goals if I didn't play with those guys, they helped me a lot this year."

  Patrick has continued his success in the 2015 playoffs, leading all rookies with seven goals and 13 points in the post-season.

  In addition to Patrick, Brandon GM/Coach Kelly McCrimmon was named the WHL's Executive of the Year for the third time.

Courtesy Western Hockey League
  "I think the award is a reflection of a lot of people in our organization doing a real good job," said McCrimmon, "We have a smaller staff, we always have, that are very proud and hard-working people."

  Three other Wheat Kings were finalists for awards but WHL goal and point lead Oliver Brjorkstrand edged out Tim McGauley for Player of the Year Honours, Kelowna's Rourke Chartier beat out Brandon captain Peter Quenneville for Most Sportsmanlike Player and Seattle's Shea Theodore edged out Ivan Provorov for Defenceman of the Year honours, continuing a Brandon drought that hasn't seen a Wheat Kings named Top Defenceman since Brad McCrimmon in 1977-78.

  The Wheat Kings were also runners-up to Kelowna for the WHL Marketing / Business award.

No comments: