Thursday, 20 March 2014

Pulock Named to All-Star Team

  Brandon captain Ryan Pulock was the only Wheat Kings' player honoured when the WHL unveiled its award finalists and Conference All-Stars on Thursday afternoon.

  The fourth-year blueliner was named to the Eastern Conference first all-star team after finished fourth among all defencemen (and second among Eastern Conference D) in scoring with 23 goals and 63 points in 66 games.

  Pulock became the Wheat Kings all-time goal-scoring leader among defencemen earlier this month and finished the 2013-2014 campaign with 23 goals and 40 assists.

  The 23 goals were the second-most among defencemen in the WHL while his 14 power-play goals led all blueliners, and his 34 power-play points were tied for second-most among defencemen.

  Here's the full list of All-Stars and Award Finalists, courtesy



Goaltender – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Defenceman – Ryan Pulock (Grandview, MB) Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice *
Forward – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders
Forward – Curtis Lazar (Vernon, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings


Goaltender – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Griffin Reinhart (West Vancouver, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Julius Honka (Jyvaskyla, Finland), Swift Current Broncos
Forward – Curtis Valk (Medicine Hat, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Forward – Jaedon Descheneau (Edmonton, AB), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Chandler Stephenson (Saskatoon, SK), Regina Pats



Goaltender – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawks
Defenceman – Shea Theodore (Aldergrove, BC), Seattle Thunderbirds
Forward – Nicolas Petan (Delta, BC), Portland Winterhawks *
Forward – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs *
Forward – Oliver Bjorkstrand (Herning, Denmark), Portland Winterhawks


Goaltender – Eric Comrie (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans
Defenceman – Damon Severson (Melville, SK), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Madison Bowey (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets
Forward – Joshua Winquist (St. Albert, AB), Everett Silvertips
Forward – Todd Fiddler (Meadow Lake, SK), Prince George Cougars
Forward – Mike Aviani (North Vancouver, BC), Spokane Chiefs

* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the 2014 Awards Finalists in the following categories:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Nikita Scherbak (Moscow, Russia), Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Nick Merkley (Calgary, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawk

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Nelson Nogier (Saskatoon, SK) Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Dominic Turgeon (Cherry Hills, CO) Portland Winterhawks

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Shaun Clouston, Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Mike Moore, Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Cam Hope, Victoria Royals

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Sam Fioretti (Calgary, AB) Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB) Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference – Regina Pats
Western Conference – Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Kelowna Rockets: GP – 72 W – 57 L – 11 OTL – 0 SL – 4 Pts. – 118

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs
GP – 72 G – 62 A – 56 Pts – 118 PIM – 25



No comments: