Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Stone, Gow Earn WHL Awards

Mark Stone accepts the Brad Hornung
Trophy as the WHL's Most
Sportsmanlike Player
Brandon Wheat Kings' captain Mark Stone captured the Brad Hornung Trophy as the WHL's Most Sportsmanlike Player at the Western Hockey League's Awards luncheon Wednesday in Calgary.

Stone capped a four-year career in Brandon by finishing the 2011-2012 season second in league scoring with 123 points while accumulating just 22 penalty minutes

"It's a big honour, especially with Brad here to present it to me," said the Winnipeg product in his acceptance interview today, "It means a lot of respect from the players in this league."

It was the first time since Cory Cyrenne in 1998 that a member of the Wheat Kings had won the Brad Hornung Trophy.

Meanwhile, Killarney product Reid Gow of the Spokane Chiefs, who took home the Scholastic Player of the Year honour.

Gow had a 95.3% average in his first semester of his grade 12 year, which included a 100% grade in sports marketing.

"I just wanted to make my parents proud," said Gow, "They definitely wanted me to do well in school, the Spokane Chiefs really helped me to be on time and do my work and my school guy there really helped out."

Among the other award winners was Winnipeg product Brendan Shinnimin of the Tri-City Americans as the WHL's Player of the Year.

Player of the Year (Four Broncos Memorial Trophy)
Brendan Shinnimin - Tri-City Americans

Scholastic Player of the Year (Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy)
Reid Gow - Spokane Chiefs

Top Scorer (Bob Clarke Trophy)
Brendan Shinnimin - Tri-City Americans

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Brad Hornung Trophy)
Mark Stone - Brandon Wheat Kings

Defenceman of the Year (Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy)
Alex Petrovic - Red Deer Rebels

Rookie of the Year (Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy)
Sam Reinhart - Kootenay Ice

Goaltender of the Year (Del Wilson Trophy)
Tyler Bunz - Medicine Hat Tigers

Coach of the Year (Dunc McCallum Trophy)
Jim Hiller - Tri-City Americans

Executive of the Year (Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy)
Bob Green - Edmonton Oil Kings

Regular Season Champions (Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy)
Edmonton Oil Kings

Humanitarian of the Year (Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy)
Taylor Vause - Swift Current Broncos

Scholastic Team of the Year
Edmonton Oil Kings

Top Official (Allan Paradice Memorial Trophy)
Pat Smith

Marketing / Public Relations Award
Moose Jaw Warriors

No comments: