Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Wheat Kings Earn All-Star, Award Nods

Defenceman Ryan Pulock was named a WHL
Eastern Conference First Team All-Star
The Western Hockey League unveiled its Eastern Conference All-Stars and Award nominees on Wednesday and three members of the Brandon Wheat Kings were honoured.

Mark Stone is the East nominee for the Brad Hornung Trophy as the league’s Most Sportsmanlike Player and was also named a first-team all-star.

Stone finished second in league scoring with 123 points, was second in the league with 82 assists, tied for the league-lead with a +45 rating and registered just 22 penalty minutes in 66 regular season games.

He's the first Wheat King since Peter Schaefer (1995-96 & 1996-97) to earn Eastern Conference First-Team All-Stars honours in back-to-back seasons.

Ryan Pulock was named a first-team all-star defenceman, just the seventh Wheat Kings’ blueliner to ever earn a first-team all-star nomination.

“When I was told, I was pretty excited about that. I wasn’t really expecting it…I knew I had a pretty decent year but it’s quite the honour to get that,” said Pulock, “To be one of the top D-Men in the league is definitely special. It’s an honour to me and feels great.”

Keith Aulie (2009), Burke Henry (1998), Wade Redden (1996), Bryan McCabe (1995), Cam Plante (1984) and Brad McCrimmon (1979 and 1978) are the other Brandon blueliners to earn first-team honours.

Pulock had 19 goals and 60 points during the 2011-2012 regular season to finish third in defence scoring in the WHL behind Spokane’s Brendan Kichton and Portland’s Joe Morrow while his +33 rating was sixth best among all WHL blueliners.

Michael Ferland was named a second-team all-star after finishing sixth in the league with 47 goals and ninth in league scoring with 96 points.


Goaltender – Tyler Bunz (Medicine Hat Tigers)
Defenceman – Alex Petrovic (Red Deer Rebels)
Defenceman – Ryan Pulock (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Forward – Emerson Etem (Medicine Hat Tigers)
Forward – Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Forward – Jordan Weal (Regina Pats)

Goaltender – Nathan Lieuwen (Kootenay Ice)
Defenceman – Mark Pysyk (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Defenceman – Brandon Davidson (Regina Pats )
Forward – Michael St. Croix (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Forward – Max Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)
Forward – Michael Ferland (Brandon Wheat Kings)


WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tyler Bunz (Medicine Hat Tigers)

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Alex Petrovic (Red Deer Rebels)

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings)

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Jimmy Bubnick (Calgary Hitmen)

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Pat Conacher (Regina Pats)

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Bob Green (Edmonton Oil Kings)

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Taylor Vause (Swift Current Broncos)

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Edmonton Oil Kings

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Brendan Shinnimin – (Tri-City Americans)

No comments: