Tuesday, 12 April 2011

Former Wheat Kings' Owner to be Enshrined

(Partial information courtesy Manitoba Hall of Fame Media Release)

The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame announced today that it will induct seven players, four builders, two officials, two members of the media and six championship teams in 2011.

Three of the builders to be inducted have made major contributions to hockey in the province's Westman region.

Bob Cornell from Brandon was an owner of the Brandon Wheat Kings of the WHL and served on the league's board of governors. Brandon's Glen Lawson coached provincial championship teams at the bantam, juvenile and intermediate levels and spent three stints behind the Wheat Kings bench. After his playing career ended, Don Dietrich returned home to Deloraine where he coached and has been involved in Hockey Canada's national coach mentorship program.

Russell product and former NHLer Theo Fleury and former Wheat King and Deloraine product Jayson More will also be enshrined.

Fleury had over 1,000 points during a 15-year career and won an Olympic gold medal in 2002 while More played over 400 NHL games with six different teams.

3-time Stanley Cup winner Mike Keane and former NHLer Neil Wilkinson are among the other individuals to be honoured.

The induction ceremony will take place on October 1st in Winnipeg.

No comments: