Saturday, 18 December 2010

Wheat Kings Silent in Shootout

The shootout continues to be unkind to the Brandon Wheat Kings.

The club fell to 0-and-4 in the tie-breaker this season on Friday night, falling 4-3 to the Moose Jaw Warriors.

Michael Ferland and Scott Glennie both failed on the attempts for the Wheat Kings, leaving Brandon shooters 1-for-8 this season, while Cody Beach and Dylan Hood scored on Wheat Kings’ goaltender Corbin Boes in the shootout for Moose Jaw.

Brandon’s netminders have combined to stop just two of 11 shootout attempts this season.
In regulation and overtime, the Wheat Kings and Warriors had a back-and-forth affair, particularly in the third period.

Tied 1-1 through 40 minutes, Moose Jaw twice took the lead on power-play goals by Dylan Hood and Sam Fioretti but, both times, the Wheat Kings were able to counter.

David Toews tied the game 2-2 just 33 seconds after Hood had given Moose Jaw a 2-1 lead, and then Toews scored his second of the night at 13:45 on a Brandon power-play to tie the game 3-3 and send it to extra time.

“It’s a pretty good test when you fall behind in the third but our guys played hard and, in overtime, obviously a huge penalty kill on the minor to Shayne Wiebe,” said Brandon GM/Coach Kelly McCrimmon on CKLQ’s post-game show, “You’d like to think that some of those things are going to turn the night into a two-point night but unfortunately for us, the shootout was the same for us and it has been.”

Corbin Boes finished with 37 saves in the Brandon net while Thomas Heemskerk stopped 44 shots for Moose Jaw, his third 40-plus save performance of the season versus the Wheat Kings.

Brandon will visit the Warriors on Saturday night to close out the home-and-home series and the first half of the Western Hockey League schedule.

Moose Jaw Warriors 4 at Brandon Wheat Kings 3 (Shootout)

First Period
1. Moose Jaw, Paradis 5 (Kornelsen, McIlrath) 17:07

Penalties: Royer MJ (boarding, fighting) Bestland Bdn (instigating, fighting, misconduct) 12:25.

Second Period
2. Brandon, Melnychuk 5 (Ferland, Toews) 9:19 (pp)

Penalties: King Bdn (interference) 3:46, Bowman MJ (holding) 9:13, Fioretti (tripping) 14:17, McFaull MJ, Ferland Bdn (roughing) 16:04, Ehrhardt MJ (interference) 18:29, Bestland Bdn (interference) 19:24.

Third Period
3. Moose Jaw, Hood 14 (Paradis, Edwards) 3:55 (pp)
4. Brandon, Toews 7 (Gustafsson, Bestland) 4:28
5. Moose Jaw, Fioretti 4 (Beach, Bowman) 6:28 (pp)
6. Brandon, Toews 8 (Ferland, Glennie) 13:45 (pp)

Penalties: Favreau Bdn (hooking) 2:05, Wiebe Bdn (tripping) 5:43, Hlinka MJ (tripping) 7:32, Paradis MJ (tripping) 12:21, McFaull MJ (hooking) 17:09.

No scoring.

Penalties: Wiebe Bdn (kneeing) 1:07.


(Moose Jaw wins 2-0)
Moose Jaw 2: Edwards miss, Beach goal, Hood goal.
Brandon 0: Ferland miss, Glennie miss.

Shots on goal by:
Moose Jaw 12 14 11 3 - 40
Brandon 11 11 21 4 - 47

Goal: Moose Jaw: Heemskerk (W,17-12-2); Brandon: Boes (SOL,0-5-4).

Power plays (goals-chances): Moose Jaw: 2-5; Brandon: 2-6.

Referee: Andy Thiessen; Linesmen: Bryden Hutlet, Kelsey Mahoney.

Attendance: 3,886.

No comments: