Wednesday, 15 December 2010

Nine WHLers on Team Canada

The dream of playing for Canada this holiday season is over for nine more players, as the national men's junior team made its final cuts Wednesday morning in preparation for the 2011 World Junior Hockey Championship.

Four WHL players were among the nine released Wednesday in forward Ryan Nugent-Hopkins of the Red Deer Rebels, defenceman Ryan Murray of the Everett Silvertips, defenceman Mark Pysyk of the Edmonton Oil Kings and goaltender Calvin Pickard of the Seattle Thunderbirds.

That means there'll be nine WHL players on the squad.

Tyson Barrie (Kelowna)
Jared Cowen (Spokane)

Carter Ashton (Tri-City)
Brett Connelly (Prince George)
Cody Eakin (Swift Current)
Curtis Hamilton (Saskatoon)
Quinton Howden (Moose Jaw)
Ryan Johansen (Portland)
Brayden Schenn (Brandon)

Of the nine, two are from Manitoba in Eakin (Winnipeg) and Howden (Oakbank).

No comments: