Wednesday, 28 April 2010

Dilly Robbed!!

I told Wheat Kings' Marketing Director Rick Dillabough I was going to post about how he was robbed of the WHL Marketing and Public Relations Award, hence the headline. However, honestly, Zoran Rajcic of the Everett Silvertips is a super choice. If you've ever been to an Everett home game, you understand what a terrific fan experience it is. Congrats to Zoran!

Thankfully, Dilly still has award from 1993 to occupy his mantle.

Kelly McCrimmon earned the Executive of the Year Award (Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy) for the second time and first since 1994-95, edging out two-time winner Bob Tory, the GM of the Tri-City Americans.

Regina's Jordan Eberle as Player of the Year, a pretty obvious choice, and a deserved one as well.

Other winners announced today:

WHL Rookie of the Year - Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins - Red Deer Rebels

WHL Goaltender of the Year - Del Wilson Trophy
Martin Jones - Calgary Hitmen

WHL Defenceman of the Year - Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Tyson Barrie - Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player Award - Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Adam Lowry - Swift Current Broncos

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Award - Brad Hornung Trophy
Jason Bast - Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Humanitarian of the Year - Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Matt Fraser - Kootenay Ice

WHL Coach of the Year - Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Mark Holick - Kootenay Ice

WHL Top Scorer - Bob Clarke Trophy
Brandon Kozun – Calgary Hitmen

WHL Top Official - Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy
Chris Savage

WHL Regular Season Champions - Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Calgary Hitmen

WHL Scholastic Team Award
Tri-City Americans

WHL Alumni Association Achievement Award
Professional Hockey recipient – Joe Sakic (Swift Current Broncos)
Academic recipient – Gavin McLeod (Kelowna Rockets)

No comments: