Wednesday, 17 March 2010

WHL Announces East All-Stars, Award Nominees

Four members of the Brandon Wheat Kings were named to the Western Hockey League's Eastern Conference All-Star teams on Wednesday.

Brayden Schenn was named a first-team all-star while Matt Calvert, Colby Robak and Travis Hamonic were all named to the second team.

The Wheat King players were shut out for award nominations including Defenceman of the Year, where Michael Stone of Calgary is the Eastern Conference nominee.

The finalists for the Player of the Year award will be announced at a later date although it's pretty obvious Jordan Eberle of the Regina Pats will be the Eastern Conference choice.

Brandon GM/Coach Kelly McCrimmon is the Eastern Conference nominee of Executive of the Year while Wheat Kings' Marketing Director Rick Dillabough is up for the WHL's Marketing and Public Relations Award.

No comments: